Why self publish?

You know, in this day and age of self publishing, I’ve often asked myself, “Self, why do you continue to send out your short stories and poems for publication consideration from established magazines?” True. No one has to. With the proliferation of literary blogs, a writer can just as easily sit at home and display their linguistic cunning to the world without the help or backing of a literary agency. Indeed, all one has to do is post one’s site on various blog channels and the readers will come running. Or so it seems. I think, for me, I like the idea of others championing my work because it says, one, that I can write and, two, I’m worth reading. It’s kind of like a pat on the back that says “good job, well done.” I guess I’m still at that stage where I need some reassurance. Rejection does hurt but the occasional acceptance is a panacea for the pain.

Leave a Reply

