Icelandic restaurant

I like to think that I’m as adventurous as the next guy especially when it comes to the culinary arts. Bungee jumping and paragliding sounds like fun, but I’m not sure I’m willing to spend the money or even loan my time to those activities. Still, never say never. I am fascinated, however, by the gastronomical delights – some say oddities – around the world. It seems like fried locusts and sauteed grasshoppers are gaining in popularity outside Asia. I believe there’s a little stand in San Francisco’s Chinatown that sells them along with grubs, worms, beetles and other insects. Yum yum. That’s a little daring even for me, but like I’ve said before, never say never. I came across a restaurant recently I’d sure love to visit some day. They have the most interesting menu, to say the least. They’re located in Reykjavik and is called Þrir Frakkar. http://3frakkar.com/index.php What do they sell that I just have to try? Well, alongside their vegetable consomme and grilled salmon, you’ll also find shark appetizers, cured Minke whale and Arctic char, reindeer pate, smoked puffin breast, raw whale meat sashimi, Grilled Orange Roughy, Grilled Horse tenderloin, Wild Seabird ‘Guillemot’, Whale pepper steak and fried cod chins ‘gratin’. Sign me up!

Leave a Reply

