Congratulations, Candice Glover!

DCIM100MEDIAI, like so many others, applauded when she won the 12th installment of American Idol. She’s truly a gem and I hope she has a fantastic career. That said, I thought I’d take a virtual tour of her birthplace, St. Helena Island in South Carolina. You learn a lot about American history from reading Civil War accounts and other events associated with the small island, Pop. 8800. Of course, being the foodie I am, I decided to look at the menus at some of the restaurants in the area. Not surprisingly, their focus is on seafood. Conch, crabs and calamari shows up a lot as well as flounder, oysters, lobsters, shrimps and clams. If I have the time I’d like to take a visit to St. Helena as well as other sites like Hilton Head Island, Whitemarsh Island and Seabrook Island. Culinary delights await those who venture there. Sign me up.

Leave a Reply

