Key to Happiness/ Aparigraha

I suppose there are many keys. In Jainism it is called non-possession or aparigraha. You are free when you own nothing, have no attachments to anything, and don’t lament if something of yours is destroyed, lost or stolen. Aparigraha also extends to helping others in need, giving them the shirt off your back, so to speak. What does this mean? It means my roommate uses my computer more than I do, but that’s okay. It’s the 5th virtue of aparigraha in action. I’m not going to give away my car, dvd player or clothes any time soon, but it is comforting to know that owning nothing is actually an ideal, not a curse

Leave a Reply

