Everyone has regrets…

…and I am no exception. I regret that I chose a life of music over one with Peter Nguyen. He loved me, which I couldn’t comprehend, and took him for granted. That was 25 years ago and I still feel the sting to this day. I think my greatest regret is that I should die without understanding all of Beethoven’s piano sonatas. True, I enjoy them, but I’m sure a deeper understanding must be needed. I regret that my interest in string quartets was ruined by those angular, vacuous quartets of Bela Bartok. I know in many circles what I just wrote is sacrilegious but I can’t help it. They really are an acquired taste so maybe I just need to spend more time with them.

 

I do understand where my obsession with violent films come from. It’s probably a safe way of me to exact revenge on those who wronged me. I’m glad I’m just a viewer; I’d hate to think what manner of depravity I’d unleash if I went unchecked. I also thought about something this morning – the promises we make are free, but once we break them we have nothing left to break but our will to survive, and that is the saddest promise of all.

Leave a Reply

