The First 10K Ahimsa Walk Was A Success

Robin at Ahimsa 10K Walk, Marymoor Park

Robin at Ahimsa 10K Walk, Marymoor Park

Us Jains, and friends of Jains and ahimsa (compassion), congregated at Marymoor Park in Redmond this morning for the first annual 10K Walk to raise awareness for non-violence and compassion. I’d say it was a success because about 100 people showed up. The beautiful weather was amenable to it, too. On a personal note, today was a spiritually successful day for me because, for the first time, the established Jains in the community called me a Jain. It feels good, like I graduated from a seminary school or something. I consider this a turning point in my life because I’ve been diligently studying the doctrines and tenets of the Jain Dharma, so spreading the word of compassion and non-violence should hopefully become second nature to me.

Leave a Reply

