Gov’t’s Response To The Opiod Epidemic Is A Failure.

The number of people abusing and overdosing on opiods is alarmingly high. Back in the 70’s, when black people were OD’ing left and right, the press wasn’t too concerned. Now that the epidemic has infiltrated white America, the press is very interested. Race aside, there seems to be very little being done to help the addict on the street.

I was reading about the gov’t’s money-wasting response and their idea for combatting this epidemic is to educate people about the dangers of opiods. Educate? Duh! EVERYBODY already knows that drugs are bad. Sheesh! What the country needs is more treatment centers in every state. Right now, if I was struggling with an addiction and decided I want to get help, I’d have to jump through some ridiculously insurmountable hoops for a bed. This could take three weeks or more. By then I probably wouldn’t want a cure – if I was still alive, that is. When people want a cure, they don’t want it tomorrow.

Gov’t, here’s the plan: Build. More. Treatment. Centers. Period.

Back in 1992, in the throes of my own addiction, I was suicidal. When I called the hospitals for help they said, “We’ll put your name on the wait list. You should have a bed in three weeks or so.” After I hanged up the phone I said “fuck it” and attempted suicide anyway. That was 25 years ago, and guess what? Nothing. Has. Changed. The U.S. simply continues to fail addicts in this regard. Amazing. They may as well legalize hard drugs.  Can’t be no worse.

Leave a Reply

